What our patrons are saying about the B&B and Day Spa:

This next may be our most unique testimonial to date

(Please read down for TripAdvisor Reviews and reviews from our guest book):

TripAdvisorKnow better. Book better. Go better.  (Read down for comments from our visitor's book)   Circa 1894

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating   5.0 of 5 bubbles

TripAdvisor Ranking#1 of 4 B&Bs in Lanark    Most Recent Traveller Reviews:

"A Special Spa" Reviewed on Sept 26, 2017 by IndigoPerth_Ontario

I have the good fortune to live within a 15 minute drive of Circa 1894 B & B and Spa and I visit the spa weekly for a few hours. I find the spa to be a place of calm and serenity both because of the beautiful surroundings and also the care, expertise and kindness that is offered by Donna Dillman, the proprietor. The spa is very well equipped with two saunas, hot tubs and a treatment room where different healing modalities can be obtained. I am especially interested in detoxifying and improving my immune system functioning. I have found the infrared sauna treatments to be very helpful for that. Donna has two far infrared saunas and she will soon be adding near infrared lights to one of them. While far infrared therapy is known for its detoxification benefits, near infrared therapy has been shown to stimulate mitochondrial functioning and improve energy levels. Combining the two will be quite wonderful. Having spoken to Donna about other innovations that she will be introducing in the near future, I am very excited to experience all of her new offerings.

Such a peaceful atmosphere. Thank you! The reclaimed materials and sustainability efforts are great :-). - Ivan, from Toronto 7 May 2017

"Lovely spot for a relaxing girls day"   Reviewed on Trip Adviser by Anastasia L Wood

Had a great girls day at the spa enjoying the various hot tubs and saunas, not to mention the delicious homemade lunch that our lovely hostess, Donna Dillman provided for us. Donna is a delight and very accommodating. Will definitely be going back....possibly for a girls weekend next time so we can stay longer.

"Fabulous Relaxing Spa"  3 Feb 2017 Reviewed on Trip Adviser by Karen K Ottawa

I arrived at Circa 1894 Spa totally exhausted from work and family. Donna graciously showed me the infra red sauna and hot tubs. I got changed and started my spa experience. Within 20 minutes was feeling so relaxed from the infra red sauna. I then slipped into the hot tub. There is a very serene, peaceful feeling at Circa 1984 spa. I left after a luxurious 3 hours after looking after me. Would definitely recommend to anyone who would like a weekend or day spa experience.

Beautiful Place. Beautiful Souls! Came for a business retreat & solitude weekend. I'm so grateful I did. Thank you Donna & Cam for being great hosts. See you again in the not too distant future :-)   - Reena, Ottawa, January 29, 2017

[From AirBnB] Donna and Cam were lovely hosts and made sure we were well taken care of. We were the only guests that weekend and had such a great time enjoying the hot tub at night, and just relaxing by the fire curled up. The bed was super comfortable and the facilities were amazing. The morning reiki treatment and sauna made my weekend. Thank you so much and we can't wait to return.          - Ashleigh, Kingston, 1 January 2017


 

"...where you can soak all day in alternating cool and warm hot tubs, or curl up in front of a fire to read..." - excerpt from The Greenman Review on Circa 1894 B&B, by Camille Alexa

 

What a peaceful delightful spot...and wonderful food & visits!         - Bob & Joan, Goderich, ON, October 31, 2016

Thank You Donna & Cam.

It was calm & relaxful to spend our wedding night. You have a beautiful place here. I am overjoyed with all the work you have done here. I am so happy with the visuals. BEAUTIFUL.        - Steph & Adam, from Lanark, ON, October 16, 2016                                            

[From Trip Advisor]: Circa 1894 gets my stamp of approval! a Must experience B&B and Spa I enjoyed this B&B and spa so much with my husband that I went back the following month with a friend... the owners are truly delightful, the food is excellent, the spa experience was wonderful! and the beds allowed for a great night's sleep.                                                   - Sherry N. Montreal, QC, 18th Sept 2016 

 

[From TripAdvisor]: "Spaaaatacular!!! Donna and Cam are both charming and have a serene presence that makes you feel already so familiar and relaxed at first introductions. Donna is a fabulous cook and breakfast is a filling and delightful treat. The three hot tubs and saunas will relax your tired bones to snuggle in for a most restful nights sleep. Enjoy!!                 Nancy B., Toronto, ON Sep 14, 2016

[From Airbnb]: We stayed here, because it was nearby a wedding we were attending, and we were so glad to have made it a long weekend of relaxation. Donna went out of her way to make us feel welcome, and was very on point with checking in, and giving the right mix of alone time, as well, as being hospitable and sharing a bit about herself and her journey to creating this fabulous place. She also cooked up and absolutely lovely breakfast every morning, and a wonderful dinner for one of the days that we were staying there.

[and from our comment book]: This was the perfect reset getaway. We were in town for a wedding, and thought to make a little holiday of it. Donna and Cam were such lovely hosts and so accommodating, with great conversation and made us feel truly welcome and comfortable.            - Anj & Manu, from Toronto 5 September 2016

A peaceful atmosphere and furnishings of yesteryear made for a delightful stay on the occasion of our 25th Anniversary. Thank You.                                                                                                                                                      - Percy and Mary, Pembroke, ON 26 August 2016

Pixie, Tina and the film crew - we had a great stay and enjoyed our relaxed spa night after being on the road for awhile. It was a nice treat. Thank you Donna & Cam. Watch the finished "Pragutopia" if you can. Thank You!.                                   Tina, Ottawa, 8th August, 2016

Thank-you for a beautiful place to stay and the good food. I had a wonderful time.    Gloria G, Saskatchewan, 2 Jul 2016

Thanks for all the hard work and love you put into hosting, Donna! We are so grateful to have you as a member of our community and wish you the best as you continue your hosting journey with us! -  Miranda and your friends at Airbnb

This is a great place to escape the city, relax in the tubs and get a massage. Spend the night and wake to a huge breakfast. Nothing was missed, great hosts and wonderful conversations. We'll be back :-). Sutton's, Ottawa, 24 April, 2016

Lovely ambiance. We really enjoyed our time here.              Eddie and Cara, Ottawa, 16 April, 2016

What a delight! Serene energy here, amazing massage, great saunas and tubs and healthy, tasty meals. Thank you for a most restorative stay, Donna & Cam. You have an oasis here. -                                                                             Chris from Almonte, ON, 17 March 2016

Chris' review on TripAdviser:A friend and I had a "girlfriend" reunion at Circa 1894 this week. We only stayed one night but it felt like we'd had a complete spa holiday. Donna and Cam have done an amazing job turning a church into a sacred and beautiful B&B spa retreat. The bedrooms are cosy with lovely, comfortable beds. There are two guest rooms that open out to a private sitting area/kitchenette with TV and wall-mounted fireplace. The kitchenette is thoughtfully equipped with everything you need to make a snack or beverage. 


The spa is in the same building as the suite. Indoors, there are change rooms, a tranquil sitting area with a fireplace and waterfall wall where gentle music creates a relaxed quiet area for reading and relaxing. Adjoining the sitting area is a massage/treatment room and two saunas. Outside, on three levels of decks, are two hot tubs and a steam sauna. The saunas and hot tubs are totally rejuvenating. 


The entire place is sparkling clean and brand new. Cam and Donna are masters of recycling and green design and construction. They have artfully restored and redesigned a former church with custom woodworking, expert craftsmanship and an eye for building, salvaging, furnishing and gathering the perfect recycled materials, fixtures and decor items to create a most inviting and serene space to restore body, mind and soul. 


We enjoyed a tasty lunch and wholesome dinner during our stay. The food is home-made from local products and Donna and Cam do everything possible to make you feel relaxed and spoiled. The spa can be booked for a few hours or you can spend several days being treated to total pampering in the first-rate facilities. We each had a deep tissue massage with Christa, an RMT and she skilfully worked out all our stress knots. 


We were not expecting to find such well equipped spa with an array of treatments and luxurious, serene amenities in Lanark. Our stay was a total delight. Thanks Donna and Cam for sharing your cathedral of restoration with us. We'd recommend this as a getaway for couples, girlfriends or by yourself for several hours or days any time of the year!

What a lovely March break getaway! This was exactly what I needed - relaxing spas, wonderful food - and lovely hosts. Thanks you so much, Donna & Cam. -                                 Diane from Oshawa, ON,  17th March 2016 

Thank you so much Donna & Cam. We loved our stay and really appreciated our quiet time in the hot tub together. Breakfast and the conversation was wonderful too. We will definitely pass along the good word about this place. :-) Lindsay from Perth, ON , 25th January 2015

Jan 20/16 We had a wonderful relaxing experience, enjoyed the spa, food and lots of bridge. Thanks Donna and Cam.                                                                              4 Bridge Ladies from Kingston, 20th January 2016

Thank you Donna & Cam for a terrific stay. We appreciate having the opportunity to truly relax and not worry about a thing. Everything was exceptional.                     - Pamela & Yves T. from Ottawa, ON 6th December 2015 

An amazing place and amazing owners. Everything from the tea upon arrival to a wonderful spa experience, delicious dinner & breakfast, comfortable bed and great conversation with Donna & Cam! Can't wait to visit again. Thank you Donna & Cam.                                              - Debbie C. from Montreal, QC , 28th November 2015

Celebrating an 80th Birthday today, we had the best spa day ever. Hot Tubs, Saunas, massage, lovely warming lunch, ending with mint tea and baked apple goodies. Exquisite one on one customized service. Wanna feel like a Queen, try this kool little nook out just once, you will be hooked. Super affordable too. Thank you so much Donna and Kim for such a grand day, we are already planning our next visit.        - Nancy Lanoutte, McDonald's  Corners, ON 21 November 2015

What a wonderful place. I am so happy to know that it exists so close to home and is accessible to come spend time relaxing. The B&B was all we could have hoped for, the food was amazing and Donna and Cam, thank you for the company during meals. We will be back, without a doubt. -       Kristine & Dave, from Lanark, ON 18 October 2015

My time at the Circa 1894 B&B and Day Spa was wonderful. Donna is a delightful, warm and friendly hostess. She accommodated my food allergies. My breakfast was scrumptious! The evening hot tub experience, under the stars, was relaxing and rejuvenating. After the tub, I tucked into the cozy 'moon' room and had a lovely night's sleep. A perfect getaway! - Genny Allan, from Toronto, Ontario 8 October 2015